Mrs Evil Goat

By MrsEvilgoat

Had a very rushed and frustrating day. Stables first thing to find lime all frothed up. He'd not even eaten his bucket feeds this time. Found out Jonathan the vet due at the yard at 3 to see other horses so I rang up to add onto that to discuss what to do.

Worked with H today as my van in the garage so we had to take more dogs on each walk. I seem to work at a completely different pace so it was frustrating trying to chivvy her along. Then Emma rang to say she'd had an accident in the other van. She wasn't too clear on what had happened so I met up with her and sounds like as she was going past a parked car they pulled out. The wing mirror snapped off the van and flew through the passenger window showering Emma with glass. The wing and passenger​ door is crumpled. Probably around £800 of damage. Emma pulled over and was a bit in shock. She said she got out to look at the damage and then rang me. I told her to go and speak to the other driver. When she turned round they had disappeared. I called the police but they said there was nothing they could do without a registration. Their car must have been damaged as there was blue paint all over the van. Why would they drive off if they weren't at fault or if they were insured? Really bloody annoyed. Just feel like we have had such a run of bad luck and so many garage bills and now more to come. And our third van is making a funny noise now that needs checking out.

I felt terrible as would ordinarily send Emma home but had no option to do that without letting alot of customers down. She said she was ok to work but was clearly shaken up.

I just about made it to the yard and discussed options with the vet. He said a sedative wasn't a long term solution and agreed lime couldn't stay as he was. I said about him being in at night and out in the day as a compromise and he agreed and said he didn't think it was that much of a compromise because if the paddock is small then it won't make much difference to his recovery.

I had to dash home to pick up Mike straight after the vet visit so we could go and get the van from Loughborough then go back to muck out and sort out a pen for him to go into tomorrow. Feel absolutely drained after today so we ordered a curry. Slept the best I have all week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.