Prevarication

The main task for today, should I choose to accept it, is to cook a smoked haddock and spinach tart, to a Nigel Slater recipe.  After shopping for the ingredients, I have had a haircut, eaten some lunch, read Private Eye, done some emails and then walked a 2 miles longer version of my regular Hollingworth Lake route. Now of course I have to do the necessary photo fettling and blip uploading, before tackling the - er - pastry.

PS - Nigel Slater, what does he know?  The recipe said to fill the baking tin with pastry and put it in the fridge to rest for 30 minutes to prevent the pastry from shrinking. I did that. I took it out 39 minutes later - all seemed well. I baked it for the requisite time, with a parchment lining and baking beans. I took it out. The pastry had shrunk.  Now the filling may have overflowed a bit, due to, well, gravity. Grrr!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.