Dérive

By oneD

To the Fish

I completed a spectacular traverse to the Fish at Buttermere from the base of Cat Bells via Rigg beck and Sail beck. I was 'assisted' by strong gusting winds, building as the day progressed. The route follows a natural line and contours at about 300-400m. It is fairly flat a lot of the way. The scenery was unsurpassed, framed by steep valley sides. The above image shows Sail beck looking west. I was passed by mountain bikers here on a 6k downhill run.

Near Buttermere I met some people who asked 'Have you seen any bluebells?' in tones that you might expect if they were looking for a rare Scarlet rosefinch. They'd read that the woods there were famous for their bluebells. I had to say that I hadn't seen even one. But it's possible I missed them. They continued searching.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.