The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Bisley Road, Stroud

...is one of only two streets of large Edwardian houses in Stroud. When I first moved to Stroud it was known as The Muesli Belt. I'm not sure how many of the current residents eat muesli.for breakfast. Thoughonly a few streets away. We are definitely located in the Cheerios Belt.

I was there in TMB to have supper with a new acquaintance. She had invited me to a poetry gig and sent me so many emails and reminders, and reminders to pass on to others, that I assumed, when the latest batch of reminders came through that the event was taking place tonight.

Accordingly I turned up in a clean shirt and on time, and let myself into her house. Shouted her name in the house and garden, waited, shouted, waited, shouted, emailed her, read an article in her TLS about Theresa May, checked my email...finally it dawned on me that the date she'd given me was Monday 15th. Today is, of course, Monday 8th May! Oops!

Walked home again, got some food ( good news, because my lunch had consisted of a Snickers bar because The Real Lunch had been left in my locker at my first job). I've now done two online orders: one for each of my two areas of self- employment. Finished my book, too: The Loney. I am left with more questions than answers. This remark could apply to the whole of this day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.