Customer service

It should have been so simple: a short trip to the bank and then to the railway station. At the bank, to pay in a small cheque.  They have a machine for such transactions. Just one. Two chaps were trying to pay in about £500 in ten pound notes, one at a time.  After standing in the queue and doing some of that sighing that sometimes hurries people along, I went to the cashiers' desk instead. 

Two cashiers. One was dealing with a woman depositing a week's business takings in a mixture of cheques, notes, coins and some foreign currency. The cashier spotted that she had completed her paying-in book in pencil and made her trace over every word in biro. 

The other cashier was attending to someone who wanted to know her current balance, query a transaction, get a new credit card, order some holiday money and a few other things I couldn't decipher. When I was eventually served, the cashier said "thank you for waiting."

Thence to the railway station to collect some advance purchased tickets for a trip tomorrow. The ticket machine was broken. I drove to another station, not far away.  The ticket machine was broken.

To get over the disappointment, I went to Hollingworth Lake for a walk in very warm sunshine. This blip shows my favourite cafe there, who always know exactly what I want and serve it in double quick time. Thirsty, I went instead to The Wine Press, expecting them to have run out of Black Sheep Bitter.  But they hadn't and it was superb.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.