Lali's World

By Lali

Cassie

This is Cassie looking a bit sandy after playing on the beach.

Thursday. I was off work.When Scott and I woke up in the morning, the weather was beautiful, so we thought we could go to the Smokehouse in St Monans for lunch and sit outside. However, a couple of hours later, the sky was all covered in clouds and it was cold, so we decided against it and, instead, we went to St Andrews and did some shopping.

In the afternoon, the clouds cleared and the sun came out, but there was a rather strong cold wind, which annoyed me because I do really want to enjoy a sunny day outside and this stupid cold wind won't go away.

Anyway. Back indoors. Another relaxing evening. Scott is getting better from the cold and I seem to be ok. So far so good...

By the way, I learnt something about the "mayday" distress signal I didn't know. I just wondered why this is the phrase they chose. Well, a senior radio officer, Frederick Stanley Mockford, was asked to think of a word to indicate distress that could be easily understood by all pilots and ground staff in an emergency. As much of the traffic at the time seemed to be between Croydon and a French airport, he decided to use "mayday" as it sounded similar to the French "m'aider" a shortened version from the phrase "venez m'aider" (come and help me).

Thanks very much for all your lovely comments and stars. I hope you all had a good Thursday! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.