Think, try, share

By JonBusby

Java

I received my Ouseburn Coffee Company beans this morning. Now these aren't cheap by any means but I drink less coffee these days so consider this a luxury. Especially when I weigh up the amount of money I was pouring down the drain on cigs before I gave up.

OCC is an independent roasters from my home town Newcastle. If you are up in the area they usually attend things like Tynemouth Railway station on a Sunday morning. I found them on Twitter. Ouseburn is also where the fabulous Seven Stories Children's book emporium is. Another place I would recommend if you are ever in Newcastle.

I elected to try the Coffee Johnny blend which celebrates the 150th anniversary of the first Blaydon Races. Coffee Johnny or John Oliver was a bare knuckle fighter in Newcastle in the 19th century who used to walk around in a white top hat and lived to 71. It is one of those tales that I grew up with.

Hectic couple of days out this week. Sheffield tomorrow. I hope you are well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.