Lorna's Little Life

By lornabowry

Memory lane

Today I went back to my high school where I spent six years of my life. It was so familiar to walk in to the foyer and see this amazing staircase, to sit in the hall and enjoy the musical performance (not my old teachers jokes!), to smell the smells, to see our photos on the wall, to feel the atmosphere...

Though familiar, obviously many things have changed. There were many new faces mixed in with those I knew. There were new bits of furniture. There is a new Community Learning and Development (CLD) department. The sign for that made me stop and stare and reflect. Here I am 5 years after leaving this school and just beginning my CLD training... This place where i now stood for the first time in 5 years made this possible. As much as school wasn't for me, I still wouldn't be doing this now without it. Proud moment? I'm not sure. Relieved moment? Yes. My decision to train has taken a while, and so these little signs of confirmation are nice,

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.