Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Dreich!

JR went to the gym. I did not. It was raining all morning. All day, in fact, until late afternoon, now there is sunshine. The gardens need the rain.

Elizabeth took Archie out - a little rain does not deter them! They both got soaked but only Archie got muddy. No worries - it's his bath night.

JR went off to a lunch date in town, and I took a notion to seek out a new shower door handle. It has really corroded and needs to be replaced. I went to a large bathroom shop, succeeding in parallel parking without incident, but was told to go to a supplier, eg B&Q.

Still keen to get it sorted, I drove round the bypass, and indeed called in to Straiton shopping centre, where there was a B&Q. Except there wasn't. And never has been. I could have sworn I've been there...

Nothing for it but to continue round the bypass (not my favourite way to pass an afternoon) and go to Fort Kinnaird. And no, B&Q don't stock such things either. I had wasted the whole afternoon when I could have been relaxing on the sofa.

When JR came home, she suggested getting the handle re-chromed. DUH! Of course! That's the easiest solution, but it's a pity the idea hadn't occurred to her earlier and saved me a lot of stress.

So it's a dreich Archie shot today by Elizabeth. Either that or the only photo I took - a shot of my corroded shower door handles, which I sent off for a re-chroming quote.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.