New experiences

Since I woke up I knew today was going to be a challenge. Yes, it was going to be my 1,500th and ideally I was looking for something special. I think to be my actual 1,500 th consecutive blip I need to wait a few days more. But no matter.

Yes, I knew I also had seedlings to plant, things to buy, case to pack , work to complete. And get to the airport on time.

Which we did. And then waited. My wife requires wheelchair assistance to cover the distances. So we waited. A systems analyst could I'm sure improve the efficiency of the current system. Staff very friendly and helpful. While not a coalition of chaos, it needs a lot of work. strong and stable management? Or some independent thinking?

The system for getting those requiring help onto the plane also needs review.

Because we were late settng off from the meeting point we had no stop for a comfort break. We were on time at the gate, and we were then ushered into a safe area by the runway while we waited for 45 + minutes to be collected by one of the adapted vans. So we took off an hour late.

Into Vienna -a city neither of us has visited before - got settled in then went out for a meal and unwound.

Already we are adjusting to a relaxed city and enjoying the environment. Eating outside at 10:30 in shirtsleeves does make a big difference.

At one level I don't have a fancy 1,500th blip. Yes I captured an arial view of Edinburgh with Leith lit up by sunshine (Hmmm. I wonder what I that might be titled?)

Yes, I have a view of Joseph Haydn's memorial floodlit just around the corner from our hotel. Yes, I have a view from our window of an illuminated Christmas tree !!

But Blipfoto to me is not about the extra special, but about taking a photo you like that stands out - to you - from all the others that day. Either because of the quality of photograph. Or because it captures something special to you onthe day.

I may not always "star" photos, or comment on them, or follow other blippers, or use blipfoto as a full social network. But I do appreciate the quality and creativity of its contributors and I would be the poorer for it if Blipfoto were not there.

Today's blip was as we exited the airport, tired, hot, late but excited to see a new to us city. As we headed to the taxi rank we looked back and caught the setting sun on the clouds; the flags displaying Austrian airline; and the graceful curve of the building.

The other photos I mentioned I may get again over the coming week. But I won't get one that captures that sense of arrival and new beginning as we set our turn on exploring Vienna and I set out on my next 1,500 blips.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.