twinned with trumpton

By MrFT

A school drop of that wasn't a school drop off; they have yetanother day off so I punted them up the road and proceeded to head about town. (The forecast I saw had been OK so at 1000 as I plodded up the High St and the rain started...not amused. Still - 4 in very close proximity, then the next 3 also no distance apart (2 in the same block) and a half hour with someone less than speedy - so it turned out OK.

It brightened in the afternoon as I zipped around Marchmont and Tollcross and Nether Gorgie whilst pondering Bo'ness v Linlithgow but opted instead for Baz and Herbie and Arthur's Seat. I was aware as I left of smoke so I headed due south but it wasn't until we were up higher I could see the hospital formerly known as the Royal Victoria was ablaze. A good job I'd bought the washing in. And then I was supposed to take her bike to mine and start repairing it prior to sale, but... as I came up Chambers St it started lashing down. I hunkered in her stair for 5, saw it wasn't easing any time soon - already 9 by this point - so I turned and fled for home - utterly drenched, but not cold, so I jumped into a bath; then cooked the Chicken Basque after Delia.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.