Cheque, mate

One way or another, I seem to find myself making payments to Her Majesty's Revenue and Custom fairly regularly, which I do using my online banking, such that they receive the finds immediately.

Conversely, when they owe me money - which is not very frequently, unfortunately - they prefer to pay by cheque, which they post second class. Indeed, from the point at which they identify payment is due, they tell you to expect to receive the cheque after around fifteen days. 

Perhaps, on balance, and since HMRC works for the government and, therefor us, I should applaud this state of affairs and, in fact, it isn't this part of the process that irritates me; it's finding a bank where I can pay it in. 

I get why branches are disappearing - at one point we had four in Kirkby - but that does make the whole cheque business a bit irritating. So it was that I found myself in Leyland, this morning, waiting for the branch to open. I can't remember coming here before and no one speaks of it as a 'destination' but, actually, in the sunshine, I thought it looked quite lovely. A loveliness only marred by the lack of an open coffee shop :-/

****
-6.3kgs 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.