jiana

By jiana

NAOSHIMA

     I have some jobs. One of them is taking guest from overseas to the sightseeing spots in Japan.  Some westerners have asked me to enjoy them to see "contemporary art". It is regrettable that the place where we can enjoy contemporary art is few in Kansai area I live in. So I wanted to take them to Tadanori Yokoo museum in Kobe, but unfortunately, it was closed, so I took them to Hyogo prefectural museum where the works of  contemporary art were prohibited by chance.

     The works made a deep impression on them. I also enjoyed watching the works very much and appreciated my guests let me have a good experience.

     About ten years ago, when I visited this island Naoshima, I did not do the job of tour guide. But now I heard so many tourists go to this island, I wanted to go there again to be able to guide the island to my guests in future.

     When I had visited it, I did not see this yellow pumpkin, so this is the first encounter to this famous pumpkin made by Yayoi Kusama. My first impression is " Oh, that is the famous pumpkin made by Yayoi Kusama." as a fad follower. In this sence, I am not a pure admire but a block of prejudice. I do not know the exact time when I had seen this work at the first time, I saw her work was "very strange." Because of my blipfoto, I got the new word "stunning".

    

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.