Charlton's ordeal

Taking Charlton on his walk as normal to the grassy area near the church, it was as quiet as a church mouse. THEN the church door was flung open and this young boy saw us and started running as fast as he could towards us shouting cat cat cat , his mum was calling him to come back but he would not listen. Charlton spotting him and started to panic so I tried to grab him to pick him up . I could not get him as he was wriggling and back flipping to get away from the boy , then it happened Charlton had escaped the harness . I was distraught, Charlton ran out of the field like a cat possessed , I was running after him as fast as I could shouting his name , he looked back each time I called him but did not stop. He was heading in the right direction for home so I was wishing him please please go the right way. He bound over two roads luckily no cars , me still shouting him . He then got to the bottom of my road where I live and ran straight in the driveway . I could not see him when I got to the back gate, he had actually dug away the gravel to squeeze under the gate. To my delight there he was frantically running round the outside of his pen trying to get in. I finally managed to pick him up and calm him down, he was panting like a dog and his heart was racing . I hugged him so tight and said Oohh what a good boy he was for getting home. I was so worried about the whole ordeal I almost cried at the thought of loosing him. I gave him a treat and he keeps looking at me with his big loving eyes. My boy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.