Ride the Night

Last summer my amazing friend Sally asked if I'd like to join her to do a 100km ride the night challenge in London. Sal battled and beat breast cancer two years ago. After the hell she, and many women have been through, there was no way I would not do it.. even though I had barely been on a bike since I was a kid. I prefer horses!!

So I started my training first on my old bike built of bits no longer good enough to be on mike's bike, with a 10km spin round the reservoir. Was lucky enough to get a new bike in October after mike revealed my struggles on the old bike were due partly to the back brake dragging!! Apparently extra resistance training! Then I discovered slick tyres, made sure I got out at least once a week, which culminated in me actually being able to enjoy cycling 106km round London in the dark!!

I am really proud of myself for doing it, as I have never done anything like that before, but most of all I am proud of my amazing friend who showed such courage through an awful illness. It was an amazing event and such a great atmosphere with all the party goers cheering us on in the middle of London. Something I will never forget. And our team raised nearly £4k between us and the whole event raised well over a million!!

Extra photo of me, Jo And Rosie who dragged me out on all those cold dark nights when there is no way I would have gone on my own!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.