Licensed to Chill

By 007Roo

End

Of an era...for 17 years I've worked for the NHS. It wasn't my chosen career as I started life out working with plants, but as times moved on and plants became cheaper to import I lost my job and need a job quickly having just taken out a mortgage.

At the time I worked on a rehab ward which was ward 9,next door was the stroke ward 8, I said I'd hate to work on 8 as it depressed me seeing all these really poorly people.

Yes you realised I ended up working on there and have done for the last 11 years.

Today was my last day... my dad was nursed in here after his first stroke and made a good recovery, Roo started his therapy work here and I helped redesign the therapy garden.
Unfortunately a new manager and matron came in a year ago and decided that certain things weren't needed and the need for my role at weekends was not required ( sadly my mortgage would fail to agree! As this work had been accounted for.

So I said fair well to 8 today, they put on a surprise party, I was given gifts and balloons these are just two of them, I struggled to get them in my car.

I'll miss the patients and seeing their recovery. Over the years I've met lots of lovely people and some not so, but you get on with it.
But I start a fresh on Monday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.