Breakey Blips

By ElizabethB

Geelong Scarf festival

Another year, another scarf festival! This year the theme is Galaxies. There were 290 unique creations to admire.
I combined some stars crocheted by one of my parishioners into a deep navy crocheted sky as our joint entry, I wonder who will buy it?

I was admiring a handwoven scarf, and had just decided to buy it when the maker, an elderly lady from the kareni refugee community here in Geelong, came past. I was delighted to meet her and share my joy at buying her creation. That would have been my blip, but Miss C's story was better!

She decided to buy this bright plaid scarf, and again, she was wearing it when a gentlman engaged us in conversation - his wife had made it! It was one of those golden evenings of quiet pride and bubbling excitement in jointly creating beautiful things.
We were introduced to her, and chatted after this photo was taken. She was a retired teacher from Miss C's school, so that was a lovely connection too.

She told us that the film "Space Balls" had inspired her design for the Galaxy scarf festival. For when traveling in space, you can choose "light speed", "warp speed", or "ludicrous speed", and everyone knows that when you travel at ludicrous speed, everything turns to plaid!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.