I never knew that

This afternoon, after the rain, I had a walk along a lane close to home and looked more carefully than I have done for a long time at what there was in the verges. I found these lovely flowers amongst the grasses. I have obviously seen them before, but had no idea what they were. Now I have identified them ( I think) as Crosswort. And when I looked closely (see extra) I could see why – the tiny flowers are crosses of four petals. So, I have learnt something today.

Another reason for walking along this lane was to take a before picture. Anyone who knows where I live and what time of year it is will know exactly why the posts are there and might have a good idea what an after picture might look like, should I venture down here this time next week . . . or the after, after picture the following week.

(Does anyone know of a really good wildflower book? We seem to have lots of bird books, but just a couple of pretty useless flower books. I don't want anything complicated and would like nice photos, rather than drawings.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.