Brunswick Square, Hove

I don't know where the time went this morning, yet I'd hung two loads of washing out to dry and was out of the house before 9.30am.

I had to drop a letter off at the vets - because our pet insurance has declined to pay for Milou's last treatment, and the vet said he'd write to them. I then drove to the marina, nipped into Asda to pick up a few things and ended up buying Alan a shirt, a top for me as well as two linen dresses (I was undecided which to get and plan to take one back), and I got the bargain of the day - a pair of red trousers reduced to £1!

Shopping done, I went for a swim and once home, I brought the dry washing in, hung another load out, dried my hair and got changed. By then it was almost 1pm, so I had to leave to catch the bus into town. I had hoped to have enough time to walk from the pier to Hove, but I was just a bit tight on time, so I changed buses, but I got off a couple of stops early and walked down to the seafront.

I cut through Brunswick Square which has a public garden in the middle and is surrounded by these beautiful buildings which were originally houses, built between 1825 - 1842. The residents were given their own watchmen who wore a black top hat with a white band, a black tailcoat with red collar and white trousers, and they carried a wooden truncheon.

There were 38 houses in total and three schools for young ladies, and apparently there were 196 female servants and 67 male servants employed in the houses. Nowadays the houses have been divided into flats and there's also the Brunswick Square Hotel.

So, there's a bit of history for us all, thanks to Google!

Right it's 7.15pm so I'd better go and do my end of day jobs. Alan's picking me up at 8pm and we're going to go for a walk up to Hove Lagoon. You watch, I bet there's a nice sunset tonight, now that I've blipped!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.