Carved with pride.

I managed to drag get J to come to town this morning, which is very rare.We bought a parasol for the garden, and then went to Iceland, and then Aldi. We don't usually shop in Aldi, but I was very impressed.They are now doing the dirty fries that we usually get from M & S , so I was happy about that. We came home, and sat out the garden, under our new parasol, and had lunch. I didn't have a blip, so this afternoon, we went   to Parc Slip, and we were pleased to see they had installed some new wooden totem poles. I really liked this one, as it commemorates the Parc Slip mine, that my great grandfather worked, and ultimately  died, in the explosion in 1892. A bit further down the track we passed four elderly people, and J and I were taking some photos of the man & boy miners, and one of the gentlemen said to me, Don't you think that is romanticizing mining, because it was anything  but romantic. I replied, surely it's for us to remember how hard it was, and he didn't reply. He really annoyed me, and was old enough to know better!  Never mind, he didn't spoil our walk in the glorious sunshine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.