Too hot for courting!

Gosh it has been warm today! and being silly I decided to go to Iping Common near Midhurst in search of Silver studded blues Piebejus argus.  
It was really warm up on the heathland, but there was a lovely breeze, which cooled me down but made butterfly photography quite a lot more difficult, as the already skitty butterflies were unable to settle to nectar without being blown around. Eventually, I found this male and female courting, well he was courting her, she was having none of it! I crawled through the horribly spiky undergrowth to get this shot, but I was glad I did as i quite like it.
Sadly the race of Silver-studded blues at Iping common have quite small amounts of blue reflective scales on the underwings, so they are difficult to see in this shot, but I have added a more conventional shot of another male in my  extras.
he butterfly flies in a single generation in late June early July, in small distinct colonies and seldom travels very far. It is primarily a Southern species.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.