BJH

By BJH

Damselfly

I was on the way home from work this afternoon when I noticed a damselfly flying around at the back of the bus where I was sitting. It had most likely flown onto the bus at a stop somewhere and not been able yet to get off again. I wasn't sure if I would be able to catch it in the insect pot that I nearly always carry around with me but I managed to do so without harming it when the damselfly settled on the rear window.

When I got off the bus a few stops later, I opened the pot standing near the stretch of water at the other side of the road from the apartment but the damselfly was very reluctant to fly off. I don't know if it was perhaps tired from flying around the bus and it needed a rest, but at first it just sat on the lid of the pot I'd caught it in and then it started to crawl onto my hand.

When it eventually did make an attempt to fly, it landed on my glasses, but I managed to get it onto my hand again where it sat a bit longer until it eventually did fly off. However, it went off in a different direction than I'd expected so I can only hope it stayed safe when I couldn't see it anymore.

Today's temperatures went even higher than before. When I got home it was 29,5°C inside the apartment and at 8:30 pm the temperature on my balcony read 36°C, while a thermometer which was in full sun at that time reached 46°C! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.