Saint Nicholas Church

This 15th C church - with later additions -has recently been cleaned, revealing the beautiful stone work.

With a little bit of research I discovered that William Willett (originator of BST) and Sir Malcom Campbell (holder of land and water speed records) are buried near the Lych Gate. I shall look for their gravestones next time I visit.

Chislehurst, Kent is in fact in the London Borough of Bromley. Most of the houses near to the church are way in excess of million pounds and up to £6.5m. Although if you go a little further afield you can buy a one bedroomed flat for just under 300,000. I am sounding like an estate agent but researching this so called "affluent area" proves to be interesting.

I taught in Chislehurst for ten years but there was a good mix of social diversity.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.