Its the Way It Is

By Jeano

Okay, so

I left home at 5.15am to get the aircoach.ie to Dublin Airport. Arrived in Gatwick at 9ish. Its a handy airport with the trains a few paces away.  I love being in London - its a lively and friendly place.  Bought my ticket for Eastbourne then promptly got on the wrong train.  This is the first time I have travelled alone in a long time and I get on the wrong train - damn.  Anyway no harm done and I eventually arrive at my destination. When I disembark in Eastbourne, it's raining - and cold too.  Yesterday I bought myself new summer teeshirts, shorts and a lovely flowery skirt for the trip. I threw in a fleece jacket and a raincoat, just in case.  I was very glad as it rained non stop to about 3pm and rain stopped play.  I got soaking wet and all the flowers on my skirt withered (joke) and I was freezing cold. So nothing for it but to nip into a charity shop and buy me a winter coat for 5£s.    I eventually got to see some good tennis though and Devonshire Park is a super venue.   There was extensive searching through my small rucksack  by security (a sign of the times).  

As my 4 tennis nutty friends don't arrive from Dublin til tomorrow morning, I had to eat alone this evening. I am not relaxed eating out alone in the evening, so I bought some fish'n'chips and went to the beach to eat them. 3 people came over to me and said to be careful as pigeons are very greedy and swoop all the time for food. How nice and friendly was that!

So I had a good day - got soaked - had dinner on the beach with the pigeons - listened to a Robbie Williams Tribute singer at the promenade - saw some good tennis - have a new/used coat (isn't that hilarious) and I am now back in the hotel safely tucked up browsing blip and reading the Irish Times.

Jean's manifesto of small cultural differences ....

You say skate and chips
We say ray and chips

Have a good evening y'all

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.