With One Eye Wide Open

By CB

The old town of Vigan, Ilocos Sur, Philippines

The City of Vigan was founded by Juan de Salcedo in 1572 and is one of the earliest settlements built by the Spaniards in the country. This town was originally named "Villa Fernandina de Vigan" in honour of King Philip II's son, Prince Ferdinand, who died at the age of 4. It is a UNESCO World Heritage Site as it is "the best preserved example of a planned Spanish Colonial town in Asia. Its architecture reflects the coming together of different elements from elsewhere in the Philippines, from China and from Europe resulting in a culture and landscape that is unparalleled in Southeast Asia." (whc.unesco.org)

My Mum and I decided to go on a short road trip to Ilocos with 2 of my ex-colleagues. Just a bit of R&R as well as spending quality time with my Mum away from the hustle and bustle of Manila and the demanding nieces and nephews! She hasn't been to this part of the Philippines and I thought a cultural tour is in order. This town is full of well preserved as well as derelict Spanish Colonial houses. Some of the houses have been turned into commercial establishments selling locally made furnitures. I almost ordered some really nice furnitures for Mum 'cept they weren't ideal if you have naughty kids living with you! So we just settled with getting ourselves a kg. of Vigan's famous garlic sausages. Yum!

So it seems this is my 300th blip! It's definitely long overdue! Thanks so much for everyone who continue to check my blips esp. to those who never fail to leave their comments. Blip has seen me through a lot, from days when I felt very low for one reason or another to days when I felt like I was on top of the world. Thank you for keeping me company for the last year! Sleepyhead requested that I turn my comments back on just for this occasion and so I have! I'm still on the road though but i'll definitely get back to you as soon as soon as I can. Cheers everyone!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.