Mrs Evil Goat

By MrsEvilgoat

Wasps nest

Disturbed a wasps nest yesterday in my things at the stables. This is the third year I've had them making nests in my things. I could see them buzzing round my numnahs stacked up on the shelf so I used a broom handle to pull them all off and drag them outside. There was the start of a nest inside one of them but fortunately they'd not done any damage to the fabric. They were pretty angry at being disturbed though! I didn't want them to move onto my rugs which are all draped over a rail in there. So I pulled the first one off and a huge cloud of wasps came with it. The real nest was in there. They had eaten away at the lining of one of my turnout rugs (unfortunately one of the newer ones that I only bought at Christmas). The yard owner came out and said he would get some powder on them later). This was the remains of the nest I found this morning inside my rug. Some of the larvae were still wiggling- about to hatch. Eugh! Horrible things.

I bought some big storage boxes so decided to put all my rugs in those for the summer. Anyway as I started pulling more rugs off the rail there were still loads more wasps around so think I have got another nest in there too. Very annoying as they just destroy the rugs. I should be able to get a patch put on the one from yesterday but haven't moved the one I found today so no idea if that is repairable.

Ride out with April this morning. Went round woods just walking. She's just bought her daughter a new pony Marley who is fortunately big enough for April to ride too so we have lots of plans to do sport endurance rides together once Lime is fit again. Still only walking but all seems good so might start some trotting next week. The vet was very vague about how much to do so just being really cautious as at least I can still ride now but if I do too much too soon I'll be back to square one with it. He said it was likely to reoccur so I need to take care.

Spent the arvo feeding cats, sorting walk schedules for next week and sorting horse insurance out. We all took the dogs for a walk this arvo whilst dinner was cooking. Very sad to see how much Alfie is struggling with his walks now. He was reviewed by vet on Friday and is on more medication now for his arthritis. He's off his food too which is always an indicator with him that he's in pain. Hopefully the new meds will kick in soon but we do need to change our routine and do shorter walks for him whilst still getting the other two out for longer ones. Not easy. But we have to keep him comfortable.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.