nangee

By nangee

Te Puia

is a major tourist attraction, a geothermal area and home of the Pohutu Geyser. I visited here today with the intention of taking my 300th blip of the area around the Geyser but that will have to wait for another day. This is also the home of the New Zealand Maori Arts and Craft Institute which was established by an act of Parliament to preserve the traditional Maori Art forms.  I stopped by the National Wood Carving School where master carvers instruct carvers from around the country and found some large panels being worked on.  They are part of a major development presently underway on site.  The main blip is a photo of a drawing of the design of the panel in extra 1 and was designed by the carver on the table in extra 2.  You can see the drawing along with two others on the end of the table in extra 3.  These are wonderfully talented craftsmen. I could and did watch them for ages. 
300 blips -  true to say I have struggled some days but there is so much I love about blip and the blip friends I have met -  only another 65 blips and I will have completed a year!! and it will also be spring! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.