Sheep. And writing!

I used to struggle with fitting the recording of the radio show in on weekends when I had Dan and Abi but, these days, now that they both sleep in late, I can manage to get up, make a coffee, and have the show recorded before they wake up. 

Today, show recorded and submitted, I took a walk 'round to Booths via Underley - for the steps, as usual - and I encountered this little fellow on my way. It took me back to early 1990, when my then girlfriend, Katherine, moved up to the Lakes and I would come and visit her at weekends. I was a proper city boy then and I would get freaked out driving along the country lanes at night, locking my car doors against... I don't know what.

One weekend, I stayed up on the Monday and, while Katherine went to work, I went for a walk up Whinfell. I remember at the top, sitting down to write in my journal, pondering what to do with my immediate future, before it got too chilly and I walked back down the hill. My route took me through a farm and, further along the lane, I encountered a flock of sheep. 

One of these sheep didn't run away as I approached and I realise now that it was a ram. Back then, I all I noticed was the box on its chest and my fevered, city mind leapt to the conclusion that this was some kind of aggressive, cyber sheep. In the end I climbed up on the bank to get 'round it. 

But back to, today. Shopping done, I returned home to Dan and Abi, plus one of Abi's friends who was joining us for the afternoon. We had lunch together after which Abi announced that she and her friend were off to go 'round Kirkby. Dan chipped in that he might go and see a friend, too. Before I knew it, I was all alone. 

Unusually, I didn't feel like a nap and I was suddenly at a loss as to what to do. I thought about reading my book for a bit or maybe picking up the guitar. Or maybe going upstairs and sorting out the music room. 

But, guys, guess what I did? I went and tracked down the draft of my book that I started two and a half years ago, had a read of it, was pleasantly surprised - and slightly daunted - that it was better than I remembered and I DID SOME WRITING.

****
-7.8kgs
199 words ONE HUNDRED AND NINETY-NINE WORDS!


Thank you, Dom; I wouldn't have done this without you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.