Rocky Mountain Moments

By pipersmom

Wild Wednesday: Hitchhiking

I went out dragon hunting this afternoon and found this interesting pair of damselflies.  They were so far away that I couldn't really tell what was going on until I downloaded and saw it on the computer.  Then I still didn't know until I looked online and found a similar image.  Apparently the (blue) male is holding on to the female with the claspers (cerci) on the end of his body.  This is done when the female is laying eggs (ovipositing) to ward off other potential mates.  He had just flown up from the water to this plant and he was still hanging on to her.  I love learning things like this!  Many thanks to Cailleach for hosting Wild Wednesdays!

My SiL's biopsy identified the antibody causing her problem and it is the most treatable of all the possibilities.  The doctors are very optimistic about a full remission and that her kidney function will return to almost normal.  She had her first treatment today and should be able to go home in a few days.  Thank you for all of your positive thoughts and prayers! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.