Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Fishing

This morning, we (me!?)   had this idea to drive up to Oconee County,  which is 3-4 hours away depending where we go when we get there, to try to catch some trout to eat for supper and for in the freezer for later.   So we packed a lunch, loaded the dog and the fishing supplies leaving home at 7am.  At 11, we finally got to the first fishing spot (we did stop for a big pancake breakfast along the way!).  No luck there..as a matter of fact I was fishing and taking phone photos at the same time and my hook and bait got stuck under a rock (obviously I was not paying attention to what I should have been doing but hey,  I am the photographer!).  Anyway,  I jiggled and juggled and walked back and forth to try to move that hook from the rock..no luck so I just pulled really hard.   The tip of my $12.95 Zebco rod could not take that pressure...it broke.   So I hiked (slowly) back to where Jerry was and told him what had happened.  We determined that he could do some creative work with his pocket knife so that I could just keep using the rod..only it was shorter.  I am short so that was not a problem.   So 6 hours later..I still had not caught a fish but I did get one bite where I saw the fish..and it was huge!! Jerry caught 3 fish..so that was one fish every 2 hours.    Not a really good fishing day but the river is my favorite place to go...and no snakes showed up today, it was really wonderful weather and not crowded with people.   Woods, water and walking..my happy place.   Saw mountain laurel and some other wildflowers.   Just perfect.

This photo is Jerry on a huge flat rock below the path along the river where the dog and I were walking.   I had given up fishing by this point so I would walk and take photos.   The dog just wanted to go home.  She actually whined and cried at me and had those tired sad eyes.  She slept the 3+ hours it took to drive home.     I don't think I will take her on these kind of trips again..she is not happy..even though she got in the water and played many times.

I sure am glad I did not take too many photos..phone or camera.  We did not get home until 8:30pm so I hurried to download and look at what I had.    Now I am ready for a bath and some sleep.

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.