Berkeleyblipper

By Wildwood

Another Big Green Bug

This one I know is a praying mantis. The bright green color seems to be a popular choice in bug raiment at the farm--I've never seen one this color anywhere else. I especially like her shadow.

Less popular bugs are the flies which are impossible to get rid of at this time of year. Since we are surrounded by horses they are inevitable, but particularly annoying in the house buzzing aimlessly about. Ozzie does his best to catch them, but he's not too quick, and I suppose if I had to rely on catching them in my mouth my success rate would be pretty low also. I ran a small nest of dozens of tiny baby spiders out of the bedroom yesterday, but they will soon be replaced by more in all shapes and sizes. I really don't know how they get in, but judging from their numbers, they don't find it much of a problem. The bathtub and corners are popular hangouts, but I periodically walk straight through a spiderweb in the living room or find one rappelling down from the ceiling into the kitchen sink. The ants are plentiful but have the good sense to stay outside.

The beetles, cabbage lopers, snails, aphids and other garden pests are OilMan's problem, which he pursues relentlessly. This involves many trips to the nursery to find out what they are and how to discourage them. This area has more nurseries than Berkeley has hairdressers, and everybody is helpful and full of information on all things related to growing things. The only problem is--for the "beginner" the advice often seems conflicting and sometimes even counterproductive. It seems to be a matter of finding a place that shares your philosophy, understands your psyche and knows the region, the climate and the soil in your particular patch of ground. My general philosophy is "live and let live" unless they get into the house.
OilMan is more serious about driving them out since they can mow down a young plant overnight.

Today is #1 daughter's birthday so we took her out to lunch. She is a great gardener so after lunch I thought I would take her to one our favorite nurseries and buy her something for her garden. It was supposed to be open but it wasn't. Maybe next weekend. At some point they close altogether, but when these times are is a mystery...

We're about to go to the "opening" dinner of the reunion of RGang--Oilman's high school buddies. They all seem to be able to pick up where they left off last year, last decade and 50 years ago. I find it rather sweet (although I daresay they would all be horrified at such an adjective being applied to them..


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.