Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Fledgling Blackbird

The persistent and repetitive chirp meant only one thing, there was a young blackbird in the garden.  What I hadn't expected was for it to be right next to my ear as I was heading to get something out of the shed.

This little 'fella'? was standing on the fence next to the shed, expectantly calling to the parents.  You rarely get the chance to get up this close to a wild bird; I'm no bird whisperer like our fellow blipper recently highlighted on the Blip Community Blog.  I went to grab a camera, hoping it might still be there when I got back.  Fortunately it was, but having been able to get so close I had to step back to take a photograph with the 300mm lens.  This is full frame, no crop at all.

It was great to see some sunshine today, the first since Monday in this part of the country.  Even that didn't last with cloud rolling back in late afternoon and even a little bit of drizzle this evening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.