dennismccoy79

By dennismccoy79

Training day

Caught the train to go into town today for a meeting.  The guy in the ticket office is a bit of a wag.  I said to him  by way of checking "Change at Central Station?"  He looked me up and down, "no, it's fine, just keep on wearing what you're wearing."  Ha ha.  It's no use trying to come back at him he has his patter off to a tee.  As I was walking away he called after me, "don't fall asleep on the train or you'll arrive back here eventually."  I was reminded of a friend who lives in the south of England. Somewhat "over-celebrated" one night, he slept right through the train journey home, ending up at the end of the line in Brighton, forty miles beyond his intended stop.  His air of celebration ended abruptly when he had to phone his wife and tell her what happened.  Announcement of the day came from the station tannoy, "...please stand back from the edge of the platform to allow passengers to alight."  Is it just me who imagines disembarking passengers spontaneously combusting as they get off the train?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.