Life of Tiree

By tireedawson

Shower Curtain

I love September in the Lakes. I think it's my favourite month. The crowds go, the sun seems to come out and there's that exciting feeling of the seasons beginning to change. Maybe it's just because I love anything new, and a new season is always a delight.

Little Summer rushes around caught up in the life of a 4 year old, but every now and then, usually when we're in the bathroom getting ready for bed, she comes out with some startling insightful comments. The other day she said "mummy you and me, we love new things don't we? Milo and daddy don't really mind about new stuff but we really, really love it. It's like GIRL TIME". She's right. It's probably linked to the fact that neither of us are very good at looking after stuff. We're too busy moving on to the next shiny new thing. Not a great quality really, but I love seeing her excitement match mine.

Maybe that's why I love the Lakes. Today's weather has been particularly changeable. Some people lament over not knowing what to wear. I don't really give a damn to be honest. I love the drama of dark showers, sudden sun, light shining through heavy rain, hot rays on your back while you look across the lake at a huge shower curtain being drawn across the fells. Laughing if you get piss wet through and have to kick your inappropriate shoes off by the aga. I'm mean seriously, who'd want to live somewhere temperate? What would you talk about?!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.