Large Yellow Underwing

Today's the day ........................ to hide away

There were all kinds of things that I could have done this afternoon - that I meant  to do this afternoon - but I did none of them.

We waved goodbye to Rob, Tess and Brodie late morning and the house seemed very empty without them.  We had some lunch - and then we made the mistake of starting to watch today's stage of the Tour de France.  Four hours later, we were still there unable to tear ourselves away from all the action that was happening in perhaps the most gruelling mountain section of this year's race. 

I took this picture on a quick walk up the garden - and I only noticed it because it landed on the wall right in front of me.  I'm not very good on moths, but I think it might be Noctua pronuba - a Large Yellow Underwing.  If it is, it has black-bordered yellow hind-wings which it keeps hidden beneath the fore-wings when it's at rest.

It probably just prefers to keep a low profile - a bit like us today......................

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.