Dunblane...

...Cathedral.

Did the Darn Walk today with the Barmy Army...once I eventually got them moving...teenagers, aarrgghh! However, I'm grateful they all came along and we did something together. That wee fella is quite often just with his Maw and Paw these days!

It was a beautiful day and gave me some opportunities to share stories with them about their Gran, Grandpa and Aunty Gill. The Darn Walk was one Dad would take Gill and I on when we were young, he would tell us about how he used to play up the Allan as a laddie and how they used to swim in it. It was he who first told us about "Ben Gunn's" cave and took us to it.

Dunblane was my Mum's old stomping ground, having been born on the Keir Estate. She joined the Church in Dunblane Cathedral. Mr R and I pointed out the building that features in the 1935 film of "Thirty-Nine Steps."

There is also a grave stone in the cemetery near the path by the river that Dad always used to point out, we managed to find it, but sadly it has been broken. There is a verse on it:

Remember all as you pass by
As you are now so once was I
As I am now so you will be
Prepare therefor to follow me

It's very faded and the break in the stone is right through the verse. But a process of deciphering and memory helped me get there!

Once back in Bridge of Allan we went to the Allan Water Cafe for ice cream, mmmm!

Grateful for a sunny summer day to make memories with the family that hopefully they will share with their families on sunny summer walking days in the future.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.