Vital Sparks

By VitalSparks

(it felt like)Time travelling

I did a couple of things today that I've not done for a long time.

I went to the Merseyway shopping centre in Stockport. About 30 minutes driving.

I listened to Steve Wright in the afternoon on BBC Radio 2.

It's many years since I have been to the Stockport shops - it used to a regular Saturday afternoon thing at least monthly often more regularly. The shops are barely recognisable and were frankly a bit of a disappointing experience.

The trip was to buy a birthday present for my Dad - a box set of Haydn piano sonatas -amazingly this was successfully purchased in HMV - sheer luck it would appear from the very small classical section.

I only ever listen to Radio 2 for a few minutes every now and then - usually by accidentally auto-tuning on the car radio.

Today I listened part of the way there and all of the way home.

Driving out of Stockport crossing Lower Hillgate it all suddenly went déjà vu ----
Just been to HMV, Steve Wright on the radio (Radio 1 not Radio 2 though ). Prince singing Little Red Corvette.

I could say I partied like it was 1999 but of course it felt much more like 1983.

A strange day indeed.
(the photo is from the multi-storey car park looking towards the Chestergate Lower Hillgate junction)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.