Doddington Hall and Gardens

A wonderful day out on the NADFAS trip. We were so lucky with the weather. What if we'd been there yesterday.

Doddington Hall is close to Lincoln. It isn't National Trust and I'd never heard of it before. It's a terrific Elizabethan mansion that has been passed down the family, unusually five times through the female line, which has meant five different named grand families.

The gardens are superb too (extra), and the kitchen produce is splendid.

We had a coach with our usual driver and I confess I slept most of the return journey. This added to my enjoyment as it was really quite strenuous for me at this stage.

Our final visit was to the home of one of our members who has a stunning garden (extra). Tea and cake and all to raise money for charity. She's a beautifully elegant lady who has true skill and artistry. I think this was one of the most beautiful gardens I have ever seen.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.