The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

The Nailsworth Community Defibrillator

Tomorrow sees the launch of the Nailsworth Community Defibrillator! It's a great event for a small town with no hospital within miles.

The Nailsworth Health Partnership, which was founded a little over two years ago, recently applied, and succeeded in getting, a Big Lottery grant to purchase an AED (automated external defibrillator) for the use of the community. It is wall mounted outside a mini supermarket, in the centre of this small market town, and can be used by anyone who has been trained in its use. It is to be launched tomorrow by former Olympian Dan Robinson. Unfortunately the launch and training will be held during working hours, so I can not attend. I hope the team will hold further sessions at evenings or weekends.

It can be used on anyone having a 'cardiac event', and it's impossible to deliver a shock to someone who does not need one. The machine talks the operator through the stages of treatment. Further information on AEDs is here.

I needed to go over to Nailsworth this afternoon to deliver some hand lotion to the clinic where I sometimes work. It was very sunny, and deserted, in reception, so I took some photos of the floral arrangements, which were full of golden rod and Michaelmas daisies.
Lovely, but hard to get a good composition. Then the phone began ringing, and I started answering, and making appointments for patients, so I thought I'd better leave before I got trapped behind the desk for eternity. Did some shopping, found I had just missed the bus back to Stroud, so I wandered around wondering what to blip, until I saw the bright yellow device...

This is one electronic device I do have a lot of time for, and would never take a hammer to (see yesterday's blip for the hammer!). I do hope to become a trained user, as I've already mentioned.

As for the phone of yesterday's wrath, I took it down to the Everything Everywhere shop this morning, explained that I had bought it on Amazon and it appeared to be dud, but asked if could I try one of their SIMS in it? The lovely assistant unlocked a cabinet, took an Orange SIM out of one of their phones, and hey presto! It worked. She also advised me on the best no-frills PAYG deal, did not try to sell a contract, was quite happy for me to leave, having not bought a thing. 5* for service and smiles to Everything Everywhere (which is the trading arm the Orange/T mobile networks, and a mention on my blip!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.