Musings of a Mortal

By KennyRiley

Looking down on Keswick

One of the traditions of heading down to Keswick on holiday is that we climb up one of the hills that surround the area.

The house that we stay at is in the village of Millbeck which lies at the foot of Skiddaw and never having climbed it, we decided that the time was right to make a stab at getting to the summit.

Skiddaw is the 4th highest hill in England, and at 3054ft, a no mean feat for the kids (13 and 9 year old) and my auld dad (68 years young). So this morning at 10:20am we started out and 15:40pm we arrived back at at the holiday house.

The kids done brilliant and me dad managed to get back in one piece as well........the shot I chose today shows a view looking down towards Keswick - twas very cloudy and windy at the top so limited shots (mostly of my youngest doing a very good impression of Usain "Lightning" Bolt standing on the marker stone!!) and I liked this one - Highlights a bit blown out but I just loved the sense of scale looking down to my favourite place in England.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.