Calke Abbey

I enjoyed the NT house visit so much yesterday, and the sun was still gorgeous this morning, I decided to head off to Calke Abbey.

Last year, their wildflower meadow was by far the best I saw. It was the same this year, but their other one had been really badly battered by the rain last week. Let nobody fool you that you just throw the seeds and wait. These are carefully tended and created in a clear and rich plot.

In the middle of this blaze of colour, I spotted a tiny Common Blue butterfly. Then it vanished. I searched and searched and eventually saw it - right over by the wall, nearly too far to focus. (Extra). My first this year.

A good number for today's Big Butterfly Count. But still only a solitary small Tortoiseshell and NO peacocks !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.