Forgevalley

By Forgevalley

One hundred years

Today I picked up this picture from the framer in town.
It is a pen and ink original that has hidden from view for the 37 years I have owned it and possibly, for almost 100.
When I was a boy my best friends mum used to keep house for an old man. This chap had attended art school around 1913, and latterly became harbour master of Hull, I think in the war years of the 4o's.
When he died in the mid 70's I was invited to have his portfolio by his grandchildren - they had no interest in art and my friends mum advised them that there was a young enthusiast keen to learn.
They let me have the lot! There are stories to tell about the things in that folio, and maybe one day I will expand on them.
Todays story is about this picture, I apologise for the quality of photograph.
Having seen the Artists other work I know he did not draw this, but knowing his skill and appreciation, I know this was a special item.
It is very dark probably 80 percent ink so hard to see unless at close quarters.
The Subject is a countryman and a boy in a scene often reproduced - of gathering sticks. Given the geography of the previous owner I suspect that the sticks may be reeds, or even willow used in thatch or more likely basket making.
The flatlands of Licolnshire or the Broads of Norfolk come to mind.
I adore the picture because of its simplicity of subject, method and material, but moreso because it truly evokes light after sunset on the weary trudge home, to the unseen cottage where lights flicker and the smell of burning wood and peat fills the air and the twist of smoke disappears vertically in to the dimming sky.

Why have I chosen now to display this picture - well because I rediscovered it - once again - in a trawl through the loft - and because I like to think it is now 100 years old. Thank you Mr Martin I wish I had known you in the living years.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.