Wednesday: Letter From Home?

I spent a good chunk of my time at ICBC this morning - ICBC being the organisation responsible for driving licences, car insurance etc.  Not to put too fine a point on it, ICBC actually has an absolute monopoly on car insurance.  British Columbia is very odd in that respect - you have no choice but to go with ICBC.  It's very expensive and is used by the government as a source of revenue.  Most people I've spoken to think it's a pretty outrageous system.......I do too.  When we first took out our car insurance, we were shocked by how expensive it was and said we would go elsewhere.  'You can't', we were told, 'there is no elsewhere'.

Anyway, that wasn't what I was going to tell you.  I went early, around 0900,  and heard the woman ahead of me asking how long it would take.  'About 45 minutes', she was told, ' we only have four staff in during the morning'.  'But isn't that your busiest time', the woman asked in return.  'Yes, it is', she was told.  'The other staff arrive later'.  So, along with everyone else I was left wondering why they wouldn't just have more staff on during their busiest time......

I spotted this woman while I was out at a meeting this afternoon.  She was completely oblivious to everything around her.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.