TOADLET

Until I looked at the photo I thought this was a frog, but I think now it's a baby toad. I saw something moving in the grass at my feet and when I looked at it, I immediately bent down to pick it up, which made me think about what causes feelings of disgust and aversion. If it had been a slug, snail, spider or even a worm moving by my feet I'd probably have recoiled, but I have no such feelings about frogs, toads, newts, lizards, butterflies or beetles. I'm fine with snakes, too. I wonder what the basis of it is. Anyway, the toadlet didn't stay long before it jumped down and headed towards the pond, where possibly its nemesis awaited (extra).

Edit: I've just noticed the blue blur of two damselflies in the foreground of the extra photo.

(Off for another few days. See you next week sometime. Have a good weekend everyone.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.