Caring

So the day arrived, after four hours at work I made my way to the more and caught the bus to Truro bus station.
With earphones in and music playing I dozed throughout the hour long journey. On arrival at Truro there were no strange looks from my fellow passengers so hopefully I never snored!!
A second bus dropped me opposite Treliske Hospital and I walked in with enough time for a coffee before heading to the eye clinic. By now Clare had joined me and we were quickly checked, (first request for birth date), in and in no time were in the first stage.
An eye test (second request for birth date) and out to the next stage.
This stage involved having scans of both eyes, (third request for birth date) and avmore detailed examination.
I then moved on to see the consultant, (fourth request for birth date), who have given me a bit of a telling off for not seeing my GP for almost six years then explained how they were going to treat my problem.
The next stage (fifth birth date request) was the injection itself. Two brilliant nurses put me completely at ease, administered eye drops to ensure there was no pain and after asking me for my choice of music administered the injection to 'Memories Are Made Of This' by Dean Martin. The injection itself was painless, I could feel the pressure on my eye and then a 'popping' sensation as the needle broke through.
The final stage (sixth and final birth date request) was the check out.
I'll be back in four weeks for another one!!
Clare drove me home, initially feeling a little sorry for myself - but there are people out there far worse off than me.
Chinese 'chuck out' for dinner and an early night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.