ProjectX: The Day After (ish)

I had to be in Haren today to get some stuff and couldn't pass up on this shot of the day-after. I'll explain what I'm talking about below, most of the 'locals' probably know what I'm talking about so they wanna skip that yaddayadda.

Anyway, there might have been a lotter better shots in this scene, but for some the fight didn't seem over; some random passerby was offended by the fact that I was taking pictures or something like that.
I'm not really sure what he was planning, but I was quite annoyed at being yelled at, and so I might not have been looking too friendly when I walked over to ask what the fsck he wanted. So he biked away before I really could ask him wat the issue was.
Still, picture-fun was over so I went back home. Happy enough with the result, but too bad I couldn't find a way to incorporate the pile of bikes that was on the left of this scene, and some of the beer bottles and cans lying around. You'll have to imagine them then :)


So what was going on? The basic ingredients are:
1. A girl who made a facebook-event for her birthday. Public instead of private.
2. A movie about a party going out of control: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1636826/

"Facebook" took above ingredients and called it "Project X Haren" making a new event (the first was closed when it got too much attention), etc. Enter youtube movies, photoshop, twitter, facebook, ... the works.

In the end a LOT of people "joined" the event on facebook, an the police now estimate around 3 or 5 thousand actually went to the place. 500 police on the scene couldn't stop madness from starting.
There is some who-did-what-and-why sht going on about 'new' media or 'old' being to blame, some people think the police was wrong (I'm not sure how), an alterantive should have been provided, people should have been stopped from going into the town, it was everybodys fault...

Seems to me that the idiots breaking in to shops, throwing stuff at the police and making a general mess are to blame, but I wasn't there, so what do I know. Still, local government says some 'core' hooligans came along with the explicit goal to target the police. Currently 'only' 34 arrests, but police hope to use all the images available to find more.

Kinda sad for the girl, who obviously wasn't at home, but does have this whole thing hanging over her head in that rather small village. Meh. Could've been fun I guess, a sort of big-ass flashmob, everyone leaving a gift for the girl and then moving on, but that's not really what happened.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.