Snow Down Under

By snowy

HOME COMING:

A lovely rain all afternoon to welcome me. It has been a grand holiday, the two islands are so vastly different, they complement each other. It was so warm, never under 7 degrees in Northland, while Wanaka was never over. It amazed me to see Camellias flowering next to Hibiscus, scores of Magnolias, pretty Prunus Campanulata out of control, & citrus trees dripping with fruit. On the other hand, it saddened me to see so much gorse, & so many Maori smoking. Whenever I saw those gorgeous tree ferns, my heart ached that we turned down the opportunity to have one on our flag. So I am back; probably for a short period. Time will tell.
Centre, a reflection of this afternoons weather in the garden.
From top, left to right clockwise, showcasing Northland N. Z.
The bizarre toilets at Kawakawa.
Enchanting Whangarei quarry garden.
Welcoming ceremony at Waitangi.
Old stone house KeriKeri.
Morris & James pottery at Warkworth.
Flying out of Queenstown.
Famous fish shop, Mangonui.
The lighthouse at Cape Reinga

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.