BREAKING NEWS! Aliens have landed!

Dear Diary,

I spent some time watching a Hummingbird Moth in the dooryard.  They are such unique little creatures.  I just love the way he cast a shadow on the fence picket looking for all the world like, well, something from out of this world!  Matt had never seen one before and thought his tail looked like a lobster's tail.  I've added an extra of him, the moth, not Matt!

Hummingbird Moths seem to come when the phlox is in bloom.  I have found that every creature has its "druthers", their preference, and when that blooms they come.  The door yard is in serious need of redoing.  The loose strife took over and once it was all pulled it was a sorry sight.  Since I spend almost no time in the front it has been neglected.  When Matt comes back later this month we will begin an overhaul I think.

A severe thunderstorm swept through last night and has brought us some relief from the hot and humid weather...and some much needed rain.  Things were looking very dried out and brown.  Greg got the last two posts installed so now David will have to come and paint.  I am looking forward to a quiet day today...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.