Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Techno music and not so heavenly choirs

We were having the neighbours over for lunch today, so I knew that from midday would be useless for finding a blip. So I popped down to the Meadows on a quick errand this morning and to get a blip. I like this wee corner with the tenements in the background. It was another blue sky morning.

It's always interesting to compare Saturday night disruptions with the neighbours - they don't always hear what we hear. We had techno 'music' blasting out from the top flat, while they had a 'choir' in the back green at 2.30 am.

I went up in my baffies (and PJs and dressing gown, of course) and request politely that they desist. Mind you, I had to stand there and wait till there was a break in the racket because they couldn't hear me knocking on the door. Techno music goes on and on and on, I've noticed. While standing there in my PJs at midnight. However, they were most polite and apologetic when I did eventually attract their attention by banging and shouting through the letter box, thereby disturbing every one else on the stair. They had no idea the sound would travel that far... And these are the top percentage of intelligent minds - our hopes for the future?

Lunch was fantastic. I played no part in it, I hasten to add, except for setting the table, suitable background music, opening bottles, making coffee (new machine!) and washing dishes. Tomato tarte tatin, followed by baked figs. Lots of nibbles. Lashings of bubbly and red wine. I feel a bit tirffed, which is a new word I've learned from Mr CBL, who seems to know quite a lot about such things.

Too tirffed to babble on too much! (Thank goodness, I hear you say!)

Pilates tomorrow!! Haven't got my belt organised. What on earth do they want me to bring a belt for?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.