The Daily Fox ...

By MaggieB

Pugwash!

I took Maisie to the beach today. We were just about to turn around and walk back to the car, when Maisie was drawn to a brown, lumpy stone .. I went to see what was going on and found a creature! It was alive - but I wasn't at all sure whether it was a tortoise, a turtle or a terrapin.

Whatever it was it needed to be rescued so I picked it up and brought it home. It was covered in clay and the shell was very damaged and flaky - but the animal inside the shell seemed lively enough. I think he'd probably tumbled down the cliff (near to the skull and crossbones flag at the top of the cliff - hence his name!)

I washed his shell and took him outside and waited for him to emerge for his photo call.

I sent the photos to a reptile rescue chap who identified Pugwash as a yellow bellied slider turtle. Unfortunately this is considered an invasive alien species - a threat to native British wildlife. It would have been illegal for the rescue to take it in and rehome it. The chap said I should take it to the RSPCA to be euthanised :(

I rang a local vet and told them about the situation. They told me to take him into them and they'd do their best to rehome him (it would have been illegal for them to treat him - but it seems rehoming is OK!) 

I shall just believe he's been found a new home with someone who'll nurse him back to full health.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.